Lowrider Bikes

Livin' low, Gettin' low on lowrider bikes

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#3

leave a comment »

More sheet wax.

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#3
Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#3
Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#3

After I got the first half done, I realized that I would need some alignment pins in order to sand the two halves to the same shape after I remove them from the frame. I usually use those little stick-on rubber cabinet door bumbers but since it is too late for that now, I just made a couple of indentations with the tip of a drill. When I layup the other half, it will fill in the hole and make some little alignment features.
Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#3

To build the clay darn I just roll out a long worm of clay and then flatten it by rolling a spray can over like a rolling pin. Then I slice it down the middle with a razor blade to get a straight edge.

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#3

Clay darn on. Now for a few coats of PVA.

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#3

Written by qtechmaria

October 11, 2009 at 12:59 pm

Posted in How To

Leave a Reply

