Lowrider Bikes

Livin' low, Gettin' low on lowrider bikes

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5

with one comment

I thought I had foam but then I realized that the stuff I had, had gotten hard in the can. So earlier today, I ordered some more from Fiberglass Supply (.com). I have to say that those guys are just awesome. He said it would go out tomorrow. Then I asked if there was any way he could get it to me by this weekend and he said he would make sure it went out today. I get great service from them every time I call. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

I also just ordered some of these Rare Earth magnets. I plan to use them to hold the finished tank halves together. These have 10lbs of pull (20lbs magnet to magnet). I think that should be enough but I will have to do some testing.

Finally, I got two of these lights. I plan to remove the mounting brackets and will have to figure out some way of mounting them on either side of the forks. Should look kewl.

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5
A little more progress. Magnets glued on with CA. These will just hold the tank halves together on the bike while I am shaping them.

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5
Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5
A little more progress. I spent some time thinking about what look I wanted. I thought about making it curvy like by straight bar Schwinn tank. I finally decided to go with the flat, boxy old school look. I have little more work to do before I glass it. I think I am going to square off the ends. I’m not liking the curves.

Cardboard darn to keep the foam from going everywhere. That is a plastic grocery bag inside just to keep it from sticking.

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5
About six times as much foam as I needed.

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5
The cuts are just to stress relieve the foam because the pressure of the foam expanding had warped the plates slightly.

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5
Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5
I decided I didn’t like it looking so square, so I decided to chamfer the edges down. I’m liking this a lot more. This 2lb foam is very easy to shape. I took the majority of it off with a Sure-Form, then finished it with a sanding block.

Just about ready to glass me thinks.

Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5
Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5
Building a Fiberglass Tank Part#5

Written by qtechmaria

October 11, 2009 at 1:50 pm

Posted in How To

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Those lights are LUSH!

    rolllikeme.blogspot.com

    Andrew

    October 12, 2009 at 5:56 pm


Leave a Reply

